Romans 8:26-27 New International Version (NIV)

26 In the same way, the Spirit helps us in our weakness. We do not know what we ought to pray for, but the Spirit himself intercedes for us through wordless groans. 27 And he who searches our hearts knows the mind of the Spirit, because the Spirit intercedes for God’s people in accordance with the will of God.

In the same way? What way? You have go back a couple of verses. At least I did. Romans 8:22-25. The thing that jumped out at me was HOPE, and WAITING. Two of the hardest things in life to do.

Hope? Hard? Yes, when it is coupled with waiting. Hope seems to always be waiting for an outcome. At least that’s the way it has been in my life.

I can look back on several events in my life when I just groaned inside because I wanted something so badly, but didn’t know how to go about achieving the desired outcome. I would try everything in my power to get the desired outcome. I would finally come to the end of my strength and pray and pray, emptying myself of petitions for, what I thought was the desire of my heart. I would run out of words and just groan. I would sit rocking back and forth…feeling empty on the inside…then surrender and say, “Holy Spirit you know my needs better than I do.” It was not until that moment when I allowed, yes allowed, the Holy Spirit to intercede for me, that I began to feel the groaning ease.

Not all the outcomes were as I had envisioned them. However, they were for my best interest. At first, in the early years of my Christian walk, I resented not “getting my wish.” But, as I matured, both in age and as a Christian, I learned to discern between my wants, my needs, and the Father’s will, and recognize when the Spirit had been interceding on my behalf. I am so thankful He did! I could have made so many wrong choices.

Dear Holy Spirit, thank you for interceding for us when we ask amiss. Thank you for searching our hearts when words fail us.
Leave a Reply

