It’s been a very busy holiday weekend. Good Friday found me spring cleaning. Preparing my house for a visit from my daughter and grandchildren. It was the first time they have been home to celebrate Easter with us in nearly ten years.  My husband and I usually make the five hour trip to her house. When our first grandchild was born, we told our daughter and son-in-law that it would be easier for her dad and I to travel to their house, instead of them trying to pack the car with all of the items needed to travel with children to ours. So, for the past ten years we have been celebrating all holidays at their house. This Easter held an extra treat for us. It happened to be our granddaughter’s fifth birthday too!

Grocery shopping was taken care of early Saturday morning. Knowing our routine, our favorite cashier at the market commented on our early arrival. She checked our groceries with a smile and friendly conversation and wished us a “Happy Easter.”

Our daughter’s family of five arrive around 2pm. With the five year old exploding into the house exclaiming, “G’amma-D, G’amma-D we’re here!,” and the seven and nine year old grandsons trying to act demure with sheepish grins on their faces, we knew we were in for non-stop noise. We loved every minute of the exuberance.

Easter morning we awoke to sleepy hugs as the kids came downstairs to breakfast. We chose not to attend a sunrise Easter to service, but to attend one of the other five services offered at my church.  Good thing we did. Trying to get everyone dressed and out the door by 8:30am and to church by 9:00am was like herding cats. It was all good though. We arrived on time. The children got signed into the children church worship service while the adults attended a special Easter service. On the way back to the car afterwards, the children exclaimed, “Mom, Mom, we have to come back again. G’amma-D’s and PaPa’s church is fun!” Now, that made my heart swell just a little bit more with grandmotherly love.

Sadly, Sunday afternoon passed much quicker than we would have liked. Before we knew it, it was time for good byes. Making a last sweep of bedrooms and loading the luggage, I asked my daughter if she had remembered everything. Her reply was, “We came with three kids and are leaving with three. Yep, we have everything.” And with that, they backed out of the drive waving goodbye. Perhaps we will get to see them this summer.

Putting the house back in order and settling down for a quiet evening, I turn on the TV and scrolled through the channels. The Hallmark channel caught my attention. The last few minutes of the movie “Love Comes Softly” was playing. I sat watching it and idly scrolled through my FaceBook posts and emails and thought back over the past 36 hours.

I let my stream of consciousness flow as it might. I thought about all of the love I have for my children and the extremes I would go to for them of the unconditional love I for them. I thought about the extreme that Christ went to and His unconditional love for me. He died on the cross, was buried and on the third day arose. Easter morning!

I was in a good place.  Even in the remembrance of exuberant children playing I could hear whispers of grace…like love…coming softly.

Prayer: Heavenly Father, thank you for the quietness of the house this evening to reflect upon the celebrations of family and life as we celebrate the unconditional love you have for us.

6 thoughts on “Stream of Consciousness on an Easter Sunday

  1. i loved your Easter reflections, but most of all i loved your prayer “Prayer: Heavenly Father, thank you for the quietness of the house this evening to reflect upon the celebrations of family and life as we celebrate the unconditional love you have for us”.

    It reminds me of the verse, “Be still and know, that I am your God”

    Like

  2. Thank you for your Easter reflections. I know the time with your family is very precious and your love for them is deep. Isn’t it comforting to know that deeper still is the love of our Heavenly Father?

    Like

    1. Thanks! Your comment is encouraging. I’m glad the emotion came through in post. I often wonder if folks think I’m just rambling.
      I’ll be catching up on reading other writing 101 blogs tonight. Looking forward to reading yours. 🙂
      Have a great day.

      Like

Leave a Reply

