As I studied the Old and New Testament passages on the Holy Spirit, I let my mind soak up the imagery of what it may have looked like, if I could have actually seen the Holy Spirit walking with God at creation. Would I have perhaps seen a wispy figure floating across the face of the earth and hear a whisper of conversation between Him and God as they discussed what was being created? Then, later to witness the power and fury that was exhibited during the parting of the Red Sea…can you imagine what that may have been like? I imagine it sounded like an extreme tornado!

I wonder, what was it like for Mary to hear His voice prior to conception? What or who did she see;or did she just feel a presence?

Can you imagine how frightening it must have been for Saul on the Damascus road?

Did Christ speak in a soft whisper on the morning the stone was rolled away from the tomb? I imagine he did.

How did Thomas feel when he was able to touch the wounds in Christ’s hands?

What did the Comforter look like…feel like… to the early Christians? Could they see someone, or did they just feel His presence; feel His warmth; feel His peace?

Then, as I meditated on the imagery and emotions the early church must have felt, they evoked images and memories from my childhood. Memories that have been pushed back into some recess of my heart and mind. I guess for safe keeping.

A memory of me and my daddy sitting in the backyard under the stars on a warm summer night… on the front porch sometimes after supper… and sometimes at the kitchen table on a cold rainy day…him, his guitar and me…singing about the Holy Spirit, the Comforter.

A happy memory, but a little sad at the same time. Little did I know that God was preparing me for His comfort at that time; strengthening me for when I would need Him. That’s a story for another time. I’ll share it with you someday.

morning walkIn the meantime…click on this link… https://www.youtube-nocookie.com/embed/yzzqhaLl_8w?rel=0 …and let your mind walk with the Spirit as mine did when I sang it with my daddy. My goodness this sounds so much like my daddy!

Prayer: Dear Heavenly Father, Your word is so rich with history of how you walked with your people and your promises to walk with us today. In John 14:26-27 you tell me, “But the Helper, the Holy Spirit, whom the Father will send in my name, he will teach you all things and bring to your remembrance all that I have said to you. Peace I leave with you; my peace I give to you. Not as the world gives do I give to you. Let not your hearts be troubled, neither let them be afraid…” Thank you for walking with me. Lord, there is someone whose heart is troubling them at this moment. I send the Comforter to that struggling soul and lessen their fear. In Christ’s name I pray. Amen.

Leave a Reply

