1 Corinthians 12:8-10

for to one is given the word of wisdom through the Spirit, to another the word of knowledge through the same Spirit, to another faith by the same Spirit, to another gifts of healings by the same Spirit, 10 to another the working of miracles, to another prophecy, to another discerning of spirits, to another different kinds of tongues, to another the interpretation of tongues.

That time when you know something’s just not right. You have a feeling that just won’t go away. What is it….?

I received a text message from my daughter at 6:34 a.m.  She was just getting home from an overnight stint in the emergency room with her husband. He had a bicycle crash that resulted in dislocating his clavicle from his shoulder.  Ouch!

Ahhh…that explained a lot. Let me take you back through my previous day.

The previous afternoon, around 4 p.m., I was trying to figure out a tax issue at work. My head was spinning. In my frustration, I threw my hands up and flopped into the back of my chair. Ouch!!! My shoulder let me know immediately it was not healed from recent surgery. It ached the rest of the day.

I was restless all that night with dreams about medical facilities. I awoke at 5:30 a.m. feeling weepy with an unknown heaviness and queasiness of stomach. My husband and I talked about this feeling, putting it off on the pending weekend obligations that always make me feel like that. Then at 6:34 a.m., I received the text from my daughter. Immediately, the feelings went away.

Mother’s intuition or the Holy Spirit speaking….?

Was throwing myself into the back of my chair, causing my shoulder to ache, happening at the same time my son-in-law’s bike crash happened? I don’t know. (Mother’s intuition or the Holy Spirit?)

Was the night of restless sleep and dreams of medical facilities occurring at the same time my daughter and son-in-law were in the ER? I don’t know. (Mother’s intuition or the Holy Spirit?)

I’d like to think a little of both.

God speaks to us in many ways, doesn’t he?  How has he spoken to you?

Prayer: Dear Heavenly Father, what an awesome God you are. You speak to us at times we are not even aware of. You urge us to pray for or visit friends at times when we don’t understand why. Thank you Father for the obedience of my family and friends to listen to those urges and pray for me, a loved one, a friend or the passerby. Father it is my prayer that we always listen when you speak, even when we don’t know why. In Christ’s name I pray. 

2 thoughts on “Mother’s Intuition or the Holy Spirit?

Leave a Reply

