Matthew 25:21(WEB)

21 “His lord said to him, ‘Well done, good and faithful servant. You have been faithful over a few things, I will set you over many things. Enter into the joy of your lord.’

Years ago, I worked in the CASU (civilian administration service unit) division with the U.S. Navy. I was the marketing and advertising coordinator for the regional recruiting headquarters in North Carolina. I was tasked with placing ads in newspapers across the state, as well as the graphic design for recruitment brochures, post cards and letters used by the recruiting officers in each county.

I used logistic reports from each local area to determine the success rates of the ads placed in each newspaper, whether the ads were “good, bad or okay.” I then had to determine which cities were the best for the recruiting material being used. There were twenty-four steps in completing the process. It was a disciplined routine. But, one that was met with much success. I had helped the recruiters reach their goal each month while I served with them.

On my last day with the unit, the servicemen gave me a surprise luncheon. When I walked into the room, they stood and saluted me. The Commander presented me with a letter of commendation from the U.S. Navy. He told me I was the only civilian to have received one in their headquarters. I was honored and humbled at the same time. After all, I wasn’t an enlisted officer. Yet, they accepted me as part of their military family.

Reflecting back on this episode in my life, I am reminded that I have been accepted into God’s family. I am now joint heir with Christ. And just as the Navy commander expected me and the officers to use the twenty-four steps to meet goal, there were steps I had to take as I began my walk with Christ. The first step I took was on the Roman Road.

  • I had to come to a realization that because of sin, I was separated from God.
    For all have sinned and fall short of the glory of God.  (Romans 3:23)
  • I learned the penalty for sin is death and Christ paid that penalty for me.
    For the wages of sin is death, but the gift of God is eternal life in Jesus Christ our Lord. (Romans 6:23)
    But God demonstrates His own love toward us, in that while we were yet sinners, Christ died for us. (Romans 5:8)
  • I repented (turned away) from sin, then confessed and trusted Jesus Christ as my Lord and Savior.
    For whoever calls on the name of the Lord shall be saved.  (Romans 10:13)
    …if you confess with your mouth the Lord Jesus and believe in your heart that God has raised Him from the dead, you will be saved. For with the heart one believes unto righteousness, and with the mouth confession is made unto salvation. 
    (Romans 10:9,10)
  • I was baptized. Baptism identified me with Christ.
    Then Philip opened his mouth, and beginning at this Scripture, preached Jesus to him. Now as they went down the road, they came to some water. And the eunuch said, “See, here is water. What hinders me from being baptized?” Then Philip said, “If you believe with all your heart, you may.” And he answered and said, “I believe that Jesus Christ is the Son of God.” So he commanded the chariot to stand still. And both Philip and the eunuch went down into the water, and he baptized him. Now when they came up out of the water, the Spirit of the Lord caught Philip away, so that he went on his way rejoicing. But Philip was found at Azotus. And passing through, he preached in all the cities till he came to Caesarea. (Acts 8:35-40)

Walking with Jesus Christ is a life-changing experience. Growing in knowledge and understanding of the Bible and a walk with God is essential for spiritual growth. Here are some other steps I use in my routine to help me continue to grow in my faith:

  • Study the Bible. Every day.  The Bible guides me through life and answer life’s questions.
    Your Word is a lamp to my feet and a light to my path. (Psalm 119:105)
    Be diligent to present yourself approved to God, a worker who does not need to be ashamed, rightly dividing the word of truth. (2 Timothy 2:15)
  • Share my faith with others.
    Therefore do not be ashamed of the testimony of our Lord. (2 Timothy 1:8)
    Therefore whoever confesses Me before men, him I will also confess before My Father who is in heaven. (Matthew 10:32)
    But you shall receive power when the Holy Spirit has come upon you; and you shall be witness to Me in Jerusalem, and in all Judea and Samaria, and to the end of the earth. (Acts 1:8)
  • Using the gifts and talents God has given me.
    And He Himself gave some to be apostles, some prophets, some evangelists, and some pastors and teachers, for the equipping of the saints for the work of the ministry, for the edifying of the body of Christ, till we all come to the unity of the faith and of the knowledge of the Son of God, to a perfect man, to the measure of the stature of the fullness of Christ; (Ephesians 4:11-12)
  • Being part of a local church and fellowshipping with others of similar faith.
    And let us consider one another in order to stir up love and good works; not forsaking the assembling of ourselves together, as is the manner of some, but exhorting one another, and so much the more as you see the Day approaching. (Hebrews 10:24, 25)

Let the word of Christ dwell in you richly in all wisdom, teaching and admonishing one another in psalms and hymns and spiritual songs, singing with grace in your hearts to the Lord. (Colossians 3:16)

  • Prayer! God desires to meet my needs!  Prayer has to be part of my daily life.
    So He said to them, “When you pray, say: our Father in heaven, hallowed be Your name. Your kingdom come. Your will be done on earth as it is in heaven. Give us day by day our daily bread. And forgive us our sins, for we also forgive everyone who is indebted to us. And do not lead us into temptation, but deliver us from the evil one.” (Luke 11:2-4)

It is my prayer that you also are making these disciplines part of your routine as you walk your journey with Christ. If you haven’t started that journey yet, there’s no time like today.

Shhhh…Bow your head, close your eyes and listen with your heart…hear grace whispering?….Listen closely… you will be honored and humbled to hear, “Well done, good and faithful servant.” To God be the glory!

PRAYER: Dear Heavenly Father, we sometimes forget to filter the “good, bad and okay” in our lives. We forget to discipline our lives so that we may grow in our faith and receive the blessing you offer. We forget to use the good and let go of the bad. Father forgive us. Father help us to remember the Roman Road. I lift up the reader who is making a commitment to follow that road and accept the grace and mercy you offer. Thank you Father for inviting and allowing us to be in your family. Father we look forward to that day when you say, “Well done. Enter into the joy of your Lord.” In Christ name, I pray.

 

Leave a Reply

