Ecclesiastes 7:8 (ESV)

“Better is the end of a thing than its beginning, and the patient in spirit is better than the proud in spirit.”

We’ve all heard the old adages, “Practice Makes Perfect” and “Patience is a Virtue.”

I used to really dislike being told them.  As a child I would get so frustrated trying to learn how to ride a bicycle. I would get on and roll, not pedal, a few feet and fall off, over and over and over again. I’d be told to “Keep practicing, you’ll get the hang of it” or “Just be patient…all in due time.” Then I learned I had to do more than just sit on the bike and coast. I had to actively put effort into learning the skill. I learned to pedal. It was exhilarating the first time I could finally ride.

To be quite honest, I still get frustrated when I can’t do something that I know I should be able to do. My patience still runs thin at times. I have a difficult time keeping up with technology. Just when I think I have a grasp on the “smart phone” a newer version comes out, or the computer operating platform has to be updated… and my intelligence is challenged again. What was wrong with the old versions? They seemed just fine. They did everything I wanted them to do. But…did they do everything their creator wants them to do?

I wonder how often God gets frustrated with me, with us, His creation. Scripture tells us that when we accept Christ as our personal Lord and Savior, we become a new creation.  2 Corinthians 5:16-18 reads “…16 Therefore from now on we recognize no one according to the flesh; even though we have known Christ according to the flesh, yet now we know Him in this way no longer. 17 Therefore if anyone is in Christ, he is a new creature; the old things passed away; behold, new things have come. 18 Now all these things are from God, who reconciled us to Himself through Christ and gave us the ministry of reconciliation…”

Like the smart phones, I’m an updated version.  And like riding that bike, I have to put effort into my faith. Even though I may keep falling down, I will keep practicing. I’m not perfect, but I know the Perfector. I look to Him and learn of His patience.

Do you find yourself falling down at times? It’s okay. Keep practicing. Perfection will come all in due time.

Prayer:Dear Heavenly Father, thank you for having patience with us as we learn how to use and develop the talent and skills that come only from you. In Jesus name I pray. Amen.

Leave a Reply

