Where I work, I am blessed to have folks come and “sit a spell” in my office and share their life stories with me. One such visit touched me deeply. With permission I share it with you: 

“As a paramedic for more than a decade, I have witnessed some of life’s most extreme moments –from unspeakable tragedy to the wonderfully miraculous.  I had an on the job experience recently that caused me to reflect on the scope of God’s love.  
 My partner and I had made it through roughly half of our 24-hour shift when dispatch alerted us to a difficulty breathing call.  This is a common EMS call, and generally involves older patients with a myriad of medical problems.  On this day, however, we would respond to a two-year-old male patient.  We arrived at his home to find this little boy in severe respiratory distress–his wheezing was so pronounced that we could hear it as we stepped across the threshold at the front door.  As we quickly assessed his vital signs, we noted that he was using accessory muscles to breathe (a sign of his body desperately trying to stay oxygenated).  As we assessed and treated the young boy, we met a bit of resistance from his mother as we worked to determine his course of treatment and where we would take him to the hospital.  We also noted that the boy–even in this moment of dire medical need–wanted nothing more than to be in his mother’s arms.  We ultimately transported the boy, along with his mom, to the hospital, where we and the hospital staff were able to make a vast improvement in his condition.  
     After the call, I thought about the difficulty we faced in rendering aid.  The bond between this mother and her child was so strong, it caused seemingly irrational behavior.  A mother with no medical knowledge trying to make medical decisions, and a child pushing away treatment that would make him feel better wanted only to be held by his mom.  As I thought about the amazing bond they had, I realized that the bond that God has with us is even stronger.  Just as my partner and I could not separate that mother and child, we cannot separate ourselves or others from God’s love.  He loves us even when it seems irrational to us.  My pastor uses a benediction frequently (I believe from Philippians) speaking of God’s peace transcending our human understanding.  It became apparent to me recently that His love does too.”

God’s love, like a mother’s love, is incomprehensible. To think that He loves us so much, that He allowed His son to come to earth; to grow and feel the pains we feel; to know and understand our needs before we do; to offer eternal salvation by giving His life for us on the cross…what great love that is.

Romans 8: 38-39

 For I am persuaded, that neither death, nor life, nor angels, nor principalities, nor powers, nor things present, nor things to come,  nor height, nor depth, nor any other creature, shall be able to separate us from the love of God, which is in Christ Jesus our Lord.

Prayer: Heavenly Father, Your Word tells us in Philippians 4:6-7 to…Be anxious for nothing, but in everything by prayer and supplication with thanksgiving let your requests be made known to God. And the peace of God, which surpasses all comprehension, will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus.” Dear we thank you for loving us even more than we love our children. Father, help us to love others as you love. In Christ name we pray. Amen.

One thought on “A Love Incomprehensible

Leave a Reply

