A kind gentleman from the department of labor dropped in expectantly. I walked with him across campus so he could inspect the elevator. I opened the mechanical room door and his jaw dropped. We could not step across the threshold because a large utility cart filled with light bulbs blocked the entry into the small room. He kindly turned to me and said, “I’ll turn a blind eye to this offense if you will kindly remove the cart. Otherwise I will have to fine you $1500.” My reply?…”Absolutely!” With his help I was able to maneuver the cart out of the room and into a temporary storage site. I didn’t know the cart had been placed in the mechanical room. The facility maintenance team didn’t know that an offense had been committed when they placed the cart there.

The grace extended by the inspector brought to mind the words of Christ found in Luke 23:34, “Father, forgive them for they do not know what they are doing.” Jesus looked down from the cross upon a most distressing scene. Roman soldiers were casting lots for his clothing. Criminals hanging on either side were reviling him. Religious leaders were mocking him; and the crowd was blaspheming him.  The mob didn’t really know who they were trying to destroy. The religious leaders,  even knowing who Jesus was, rejected him as their Messiah, had deceived the people into believing he was a fake and a troublemaker.  Yet, Christ said, “Father, forgive them.”

There are examples throughout the Bible of forgiveness. That’s the beauty of the Bible. It reveals God’s forgiveness, available to us through Christ (John 3:16-17). When one  come to Christ in faith and repentance as a result of  His invitation (John 6:44), He says of us, “Father, forgive them,” and He does.

I’m thankful the inspector was willing to forgive our ignorance about storing things in the mechanical room. Even tough I’m not personally responsible for the actions of the  facility maintenance men, I am a messenger. Which reminds me that of 2 Corinthians 5:20-21.

Therefore, we are ambassadors for Christ, as though God were making an appeal through us; we beg you on behalf of Christ, be reconciled to God.21He made Him who knew no sin to be sin on our behalf, so that we might become the righteousness of God in Him.

Prayer: Heavenly Father, thank you that through my faith in Christ, you no longer see my iniquities. Thank you that in my ignorance you sent a messenger to share how to have your grace and forgiveness in my life. Father help me to be a messenger for you. In Christ name I pray. Amen.

Leave a Reply

