I’m trying to be more mindful of my diet by including more organic and less processed foods and beverages. Notice I said “trying.” I’m finding it difficult to replace all of my favorite caffeinated drinks, such as tea, coffee and cola. I’ve discovered a brand of flavored teas that are very tasty and can be enjoyed as a soothing hot beverage. While sipping a hot cup of tea called “Limonade Rose”, I read the side panel of the box. It said…”Just imagine capturing your childhood in a glass when your lips touch upon the tangy citrus of the pinkest of lemonades. Just a sip and you’ll hear the laughter of your youth ringing through the years.”

As I sipped the tea, I conjured childhood memories. Thoughts kept coming to mind about vacation bible schools. That one week during summer just at the end of the school year, when churches dedicate each weekday, or evening, to children. Oh, not memories of my childhood, but about the children I used to teach.

Train a Child

I remember nights of meetings in homes of co-teachers for many weeks ahead of VBS, as we studied the lesson plans together and laughed at our attempts to make the “simple” crafts to teach the children.

I remember children running wildly around the church yard, laughing and giggling as they waited to line-up to march inside.

I remember little faces lighting up as they were chosen to be the one to carry in the American and Christian flags, and the big ol’ pulpit bible that weighed as much as the child.

I remember how proud they were when they could quote a whole bible verse at week’s end without any coaching and how they proudly displayed their crafts on parent’s night.

Simple songs still ring in my mind. “Yo Tengo un amigo que me ama, que me ama, que me ama. Yo Tengo un amigo que me ama, su nombre es Jesús – I have a faithful friend who truly loves me, who loves me, who loves me. I have a faithful friend who truly loves me and Jesus is his name.”

The dedication of many men and women who were willing to give up a week of their time to help out in summer VBS made it possible for the children to learn how God loved them and salvation was not just for “grownups.”

The tradition of Vacation Bible School still continues in many churches. For many children, VBS week is the only time they hear about God’s love and Jesus for the first time.

I’m reminded of 2 Timothy 3:14-15

But as for you, continue in what you have learned and have firmly believed, knowing from whom you learned it and how from childhood you have been acquainted with the sacred writings, which are able to make you wise for salvation through faith in Christ Jesus.”

I encourage each of you to put into practice today’s verse. Make time to acquaint yourself again with the sacred writings and share them with a child. Imagine capturing a child’s memory by offering them the delightful taste of God’s love and salvation through Christ Jesus.

What about you…any VBS memories as a child or teacher? I’d love to hear them.

Prayer: Dear Heavenly Father, thank you for placing people in our lives who continue in their faith and are willing to share and teach your word, the sacred writings, with us. Father God, help us to be that person also. Help us share with others, by teaching in VBS, by offering words of comfort, a cool glass of water, or by being examples in our friendships. Like the aromas of herbal teas, we drink in the aroma of your steadfast love. In Christ name we pray.

Leave a Reply

