Living in a rural area, I travel many winding country roads. One particular road now has to be used as a detour while a bridge is being re-constructed on a main highway to my neighborhood. This two mile detour has thirteen curves, two of which are blind curves. I drive this road quite often, even when it isn’t a detour. Drivers unfamiliar with this road come careening around those curves at breakneck speeds, often over into the wrong travel lane. I’ve seen vehicles sitting on the side of the road, facing the opposite direction where they have come around the curve to quickly, lost control and jumped the ditch.

There are no residences, no businesses, and no lights on this road. Nothing visible to illuminate the surroundings except the headlights of the car. Deer abound in the woods that line both sides of the road. Sadly it is sometimes misused as a dumping ground for unwanted appliances. Often there is a dead rodent laying in the path of my vehicle.

It’s a very eerie road to travel, especially at night. Sometimes I feel like I’m traveling in a “Twilight Zone” episode, never knowing what will jump out at me un-expectantly. My imagination runs wild. I’ll have all sorts of “what if” thoughts while driving at night. I have to admit fear sometimes grips me, especially if it’s raining.

Returning home recently, I was having some of those thoughts. It was pitch black out. The road was wet. I was extremely tired, both emotionally and physically. I knew if I continued on with the same thought process I could possibly put myself in a dangerous situation. This verse then came to mind:

Thou wilt keep him in perfect peace, whose mind is stayed on thee: because he trusteth in thee. Isaiah 26:3 (KJV)

So, I forced myself to start thinking about the bible study I had just left. Then, it seemed out of nowhere, a peace filled my car. I begin to see the road in front of me as a highway to heaven. I didn’t know what “might” be around the next curve. I didn’t know what “might” be at the edge of the headlights just ahead of me. But one thing I did know… that as I traveled within the beams of those headlights, I could see what was in the lane ahead of me. It was as if I heard Grace whispering, “As you trust in these headlights, also trust in me. Will I not also guide you? Haven’t I provided light for you thus far? This road leads home, as does my way lead to your heavenly home. You know this road. You know me.”

As I traveled down this familiar road full of curves, he taught me another lesson.  It hit me like a ton of bricks. You know, life is like this road. Yes, it’s hard to trust when we hit a detour or don’t know what’s around the next bend. But even on the familiar road, we should continue to trust.

Prayer: Dear Heavenly Father, thank you for this lesson. As we travel roads familiar to us, we can know that as we continue to trust in you we don’t have to worry about the “what-ifs”. We can trust that you will help us through the detours, for though they may be a detour to some, they are familiar to others who can help us navigate our way back to the correct pathway. We can learn from those detours and still reach our heavenly home. In Jesus name. Amen.

Leave a Reply

