Up at the crack of dawn on another Saturday morning. (Not really. I  just felt like it was the crack of dawn.) Hubby was up at the crack of dawn, but let me sleep until 7am. That was mighty thoughtful of him. (Or was it Grace whispering… reminding me what love is?) I slowly crawled out of bed with a lament on my lips. “Oh, Lord can’t we have just one Saturday without having to rush through our personal chores?”

Hubby had already completed two loads of laundry by this time. That’s two less that I didn’t have to do. That was mighty thoughtful of him. (Or was it Grace whispering… reminding me what love is?) There was still hot coffee waiting for me. I poured a cup and downed about half of it before we had to be out the door to have the oil changed in the truck and on to grocery shopping.

Back home by 9:30am, groceries put away, I began completing the remainder of the laundry and prepping vegetables and pasta for the evening meal. Hubby cranked the lawnmower and began the two hour task of mowing our rock garden of a lawn.

For some inexplicable reason I was overcome with weepiness. I sent a text out to two friends asking them to pray for me. I played soaking music hoping to lift my spirits and then got busy on the rest of my household chores. One of my friends called, saying she was on the way into town and wondered if I could meet her somewhere for a snack. That was awfully thoughtful of her. (Or was it Grace whispering… reminding me what love is?) I looked at the clock and gauged that I had an hour to spare before hubby would be through with the lawn and we would have to make the 30 mile drive back to Henderson to help his widowed sister with some business decisions and my mom with some medical issues. I accepted my friend’s invitation.

We sat outside under a big red umbrella at a local ice-cream shop. As we ate and talked the oppression left me. I thought how nice it was for her to take the time to invite me out . (Or was it Grace whispering … “This is what love is”?)

By 3pm my husband and I were on the road north.

As he and his sister met with a realtor, I excused myself from her apartment. I really didn’t need to be involved with their conversations. I knew that if I stayed, I probably would say something I would regret later. Best to make myself scarce for awhile.

I sat outside scrolling through Face Book posts when a tiny elderly lady approached pushing a walker. I looked up as she stopped in front of me. I took the time to listen to her explain why she was pushing her walker so slowly. We exchanged other pleasantries and then my phone rang. I was being paged by my hubby. Encouraging her to continue with her exercise, I excused myself from our conversation. I thought it was sweet of her to stop to speak to a stranger. (Or was it Grace whispering…“This is what love is”?)

Finished at my sister-in-law’s home, we headed across town to my mom’s. After her meltdown last night, I wasn’t looking forward to another encounter. Taking a deep breath I get out of the car and head for the entrance of the facility. As always, one has to pass the gauntlet of residents enjoying the rocking chairs on the front veranda. Smiles all around, they lifted my spirits. I head on to my mom’s room, take her usual complaints in stride, get what I need from her to pick up another prescription and am out the door in 10 minutes. I wondered to myself, “How much more can I handle?” (Or was it Grace whispering… “This is what love is”?)

Yes, indeed. I’ve been reminded many times today of “what love is.”

Prayer: Heavenly Father, the Apostle Paul so aptly shared what love is in his letter to the church in Corinth. Oh, if only we all could exude love to that degree. Thank you for sending your Son, Jesus Christ to show us how. Help us Lord as we strive to love that deeply. In his name we pray. Amen.

1 Corinthians 13 (NIV)

13 If I speak in the tongues of men or of angels, but do not have love, I am only a resounding gong or a clanging cymbal. If I have the gift of prophecy and can fathom all mysteries and all knowledge, and if I have a faith that can move mountains, but do not have love, I am nothing. If I give all I possess to the poor and give over my body to hardship that I may boast, but do not have love, I gain nothing.

Love is patient, love is kind.

It does not envy,

it does not boast,

it is not proud. 

It does not dishonor others,

it is not self-seeking, 

it is not easily angered,

it keeps no record of wrongs. 

Love does not delight in evil but rejoices with the truth. 

It always protects,

always trusts,

always hopes,

always perseveres.

Love never fails. But where there are prophecies, they will cease;

where there are tongues, they will be stilled;

where there is knowledge, it will pass away.

For we know in part and we prophesy in part

10 but when completeness comes, what is in part disappears.

11 When I was a child, I talked like a child, I thought like a child, I reasoned like a child. When I became a man, I put the ways of childhood behind me. 

12 For now we see only a reflection as in a mirror; then we shall see face to face. Now I know in part; then I shall know fully, even as I am fully known.

13 And now these three remain: faith, hope and love.

   But the greatest of these is love.

2 thoughts on “Reminded Again of What Love Is

Leave a Reply

