The selection of cleaning products on the market now days never ceases to amaze me.

The Proctor and Gamble Company boasts of the cleaning power of one of their products, “Mr. Clean’s Magic Eraser.” It promises to remove dirt, grime and even scuff marks with a single swipe with no soap, only a little water. I’ve used the product for several years, usually when cleaning the bathroom or to remove shoe scuff marks on the kitchen floor. It does okay. Sometimes I have to put a bit more “elbow grease” into it.

Today, I decided to test it on scuff marks and scratches on the walls that occurred from bumping them with furniture over the years… and grand-kid’s little finger prints as they learn to navigate the stairs without holding onto the handrail. I was surprised when some of the deep scratches seemed to disappear. The Magic Eraser didn’t disappoint. It had done just as it promised.

As I sat on the stairs cleaning off the marks, I thought about how God does just as He promises too.  Time after time I have gone to Him in prayer; prayers over broken relationships, physical healing, employment issues; prayers for my children and for my parents; prayers for friends and prayers for situations in the world. No, my prayers were not always answered as I thought they should have been. And yes, I got really angry at God sometimes.  But you know what? As I matured (or calmed down as the case may be in some instances) and looked back at the situations, I could see how His answers were for the best.

Scripture tells us in 1 John 1:9 (ASB), “If we confess our sins, He is faithful and righteous to forgive us our sins and to cleanse us from all unrighteousness.”  Believe me, I do a lot of confessing!

As I continued to clean, another scripture verse came to mind; Hebrews 10:17 (NIV), “I will remember their sins and their lawless deeds no more.”

I like the way the Voice quotes it,

“I will erase their sins and wicked acts out of My memory as though they had never existed.”

I had to smile when that scripture came to mind. Just like the Magic Eraser took away all evidence of the mars on my walls, God erased the mars on my soul. He will do it for you too.

Prayer: Heavenly Father, your mercy and grace is amazing. Thank you for the daily reminders in my life…something as trite as the Magic Eraser…that you are faithful and true to your promises. God you never cease to amaze me! In Christ name. Amen.

Leave a Reply

