Tick-tock, tick-tock, tick-tock…zoom!

Hear that? It’s the sound of time passing.

I’m reminded of the line “Time keeps on slippin’, slippin’, slippin’ into the future,” from an oldie-but-goldie song from the seventies era by Steve Miller, “Fly Like an Eagle.”

Ahhh…finally back at the keyboard.

This summer has been a whirlwind of activity for me. In addition to working full-time at the office, I spent most of June and July running my elderly mom back and forth between doctors, urgent care and emergency rooms; My daughter and husband sold their house at the end of June, before they could find another for them and their three children to move to. So, I hosted them in my home; I had to put together a Colossians devotional study guide to handout by mid-July; During the last week of July, my daughter’s family, my husband and I vacationed together. It was the first week long vacation I’ve had in eight years. On the last day of vacation, we rushed back to North Carolina in time for them to close on the purchase of their new home and move their belongings into the new house. Whew!

I kept telling myself I would write at least one post on “Whisperings of Grace” during the whirlwind of activity this summer, when I found the time.

God had other plans for me. He sometimes has a sense of humor in how He directs our paths. Take for instance:

When I was sitting in the E.R with mom all those times in June and early July, I look up and what do I see, but a sign that reads, “Please turn off all cell phones and devices.”

While at my house in July, the grandkids had the rare treat of staying up later than usual. Guess who got to play games with them until neither of us could barely keep our eyes open? Then, the parents would want to sit up a few moments longer for adult conversation. By the time everyone was ready for bed, it would be too late for me to write.

I took my laptop on vacation with me. We stayed in a beautiful log cabin on the side of a mountain in Gatlinburg, Tennessee.  I had plans to sit out on the balcony and write during the quiet times in the mornings before the grandkids awoke. My daughter had even planned on doing some work while she was there. Guess what? To our chagrin, there was no internet connection. So, she and I got to sit out on the balcony enjoying the quiet morning sunrises and coffee together. Just the two of us.

Somehow, like the line in that song, time kept slipping away. I really felt bad about not writing. Then, like always, as I look back at the situations in my life, I can hear Grace whispering verses of encouragement and direction letting me know God is always there with me, directing my steps, even my time.

Grace reminds me there is a set time for everything:

Ecclesiastes 3:1-8 For everything there is a season, and a time for every matter under heaven: a time to be born, and a time to die; a time to plant, and a time to pluck up what is planted; a time to kill, and a time to heal; a time to break down, and a time to build up; a time to weep, and a time to laugh; a time to mourn, and a time to dance; a time to cast away stones, and a time to gather stones together; a time to embrace, and a time to refrain from embracing; …

Grace reminds me of the strength He provides to care for my family

Proverbs 31:25-31 She is clothed with strength and dignity; she can laugh at the days to come. She speaks with wisdom, and faithful instruction is on her tongue. She watches over the affairs of her household and does not eat the bread of idleness. Her children arise and call her blessed; her husband also, and he praises her: “Many women do noble things, but you surpass them all.” Charm is deceptive, and beauty is fleeting; but a woman who fears the LORD is to be praised. Give her the reward she has earned, and let her works bring her praise at the city gate.

Grace reminds me that I don’t have to set self-imposed standards.

Micah 6:8 He has told you, O man, what is good; and what does the Lord require of you but to do justice, and to love kindness, and to walk humbly with your God?

Grace reminds me to get proper rest.

Psalm 127:2 It is in vain that you rise up early and go late to rest, eating the bread of anxious toil; for he gives to his beloved sleep.

Grace reminds me that I have more to learn as I prepare to teach the book of Colossians.

Colossians 4:5 Walk in wisdom toward outsiders, making the best use of the time.

Yes, I did have a whirlwind of a summer. But time wasn’t slipping away as I thought. God was in control the whole time.

So, if you don’t see a daily or weekly post here, know that I am listening for the Whisperings of Grace to share with you as He shares with me.

Prayer: Heavenly Father, thank you for whispering encouragement and comfort through the scriptures in those times when we think we have failed. Father help us to honor the gift of time and use it wisely according to your will. In Christ name, Amen.

Leave a Reply

