Matthew 4:4 (NIV) “Jesus answered, “It is written: ‘Man shall not live on bread alone, but on every word that comes from the mouth of God.’”

I enjoy collecting recipe books. Not that I’m a great cook. My kids used to tease me with, “Mom, it’s done! The smoke alarm just went off.” I taught them how “not to cook” things. They are much better cooks than I am. My son enjoys cooking with organic ingredients. My daughter enjoys cooking with an international flair. My son-in-law has been given the task of baking the chocolate pies for each holiday meal. I enjoy visiting their homes and just sitting back, taking in the aromas as they lovingly prepare meals for us to share. Only occasionally will I call, “Something’s smoking! It must be done!” Of course, I’ll get a comeback from them, “Mom are you cooking again?” We all break out in laughter.

I especially enjoy perusing the pages of old church recipe books. It’s interesting to see how other cooks put their own “touch” into a recipe.  Along with the tried and true recipes are little nuggets of gold.  Here is one such recipe.

Bon Appetit!

 

Scripture Cake

    • 4 and a half cups I Kings 4:22 – “Solomon’s daily provisions were thirty cors of the finest flour
    • 1 and a half cups of Judges 5:25 – “He asked for water, and she gave him milk; in a bowl fit for nobles she brought him curdled milk.” (curdled milk=butter)
    • 2 cups of Jeremiah 6:20 – “What do I care about incense from Sheba or sweet calamus from a distant land? Your burnt offerings are not acceptable; your sacrifices do not please me.” (a sweet cane/sugar)
    • 2 cups I Samuel 30:12 – “…part of a cake of pressed figs and two cakes of raisins. He ate and was revived, for he had not eaten any food or drunk any water for three days and three nights.”
    • 2 cups of Nahum 3:12 – “All your fortresses are like fig trees with their first ripe fruit; when they are shaken, the figs fall into the mouth of the eater.”
    • 1 cup of Numbers 17:8 – “The next day Moses entered the tent and saw that Aaron’s staff, which represented the tribe of Levi, had not only sprouted but had budded, blossomed and produced ”
    • 2 Tablespoons full of I Samuel 14:25 – “The entire army entered the woods, and there was honey on the ground.”
    • Season to taste of II Chronicles 9:9 – “Then she gave the king 120 talents of gold, large quantities of spices, and precious stones. There had never been such spices as those the queen of Sheba gave to King Solomon.” (A.k.a., season to taste with whatever spices you want. I’d recommend nutmeg, cinnamon, allspice.)
    • Six Jeremiah 17:11 – “Like a partridge that hatches eggs it did not lay are those who gain riches by unjust means. When their lives are half gone, their riches will desert them, and in the end they will prove to be fools.”
    • A Pinch of Leviticus 2:13 – “Season all your grain offerings with salt. Do not leave the salt of the covenant of your God out of your grain offerings; add salt to all your offerings.”
    • Half cup of Judges 4:19 – “‘I’m thirsty,’ he said. ‘Please give me some water.’ She opened a skin of milk, gave him a drink, and covered him up.”
    • Two teaspoons of Amos 4:5 – “Burn leavened bread as a thank offering and brag about your freewill offerings– boast about them, you Israelites, for this is what you love to do,” declares the Sovereign LORD.” (Hint a leaven such as baking soda should be used.)

Directions
Cream Judges (butter), Jeremiah (sugar), and I Samuel (honey).
Beat in the 3 Jeremiahs (eggs), one at a time.
Add I Samuel (raisins), Nahum (figs), and Numbers (almonds), and beat again.
Sift together I Kings (flour), II Chronicles (spices), Leviticus (salt), and Amos (leavener, or baking soda).
Add to first mixture. Lastly, add Judges (milk).
Bake at 325F for 1 and 1/2 hours, or until done.

Dear Heavenly Father, thank you for the goodness that abounds in your word as we read the recipe for Godly living. We may burn the cake at times, or leave out the leavening. It’s good to know that your recipe never changes. It is tried and true. Your word is the same yesterday, today and tomorrow. In Christ name I pray. Amen.

Leave a Reply

