1 Samuel 16:7 ESV “…. For the Lord sees not as man sees: man looks on the outward appearance, but the Lord looks on the heart.”

Cracked CrockIt sits on an antique side table. We don’t know how old it is, this cookie jar I inherited from my husband’s mother. The brown mustard colored glaze is cracked with age. The hand painted crimson petals are now barely visible from a lifetime of wear. The lid, once broken, is streaked with silver threads of soldering glue. It’s not a beautiful piece of crock ware. But to my husband it is priceless. It holds memories of several generations of love. It still has value in our eyes.

As I look at that piece of cracked crock, I am reminded that I too am but a broken vessel, now made whole by my Heavenly Father. A broken vessel, streaked with silver threads of His promises, sins covered by crimson shades of Christ’s blood that was shed to make me whole again in the Father’s eyes. A vessel repurposed by His love and grace. A cracked crock faded with wear, chipped, but valued by my Heavenly Father…

… and so are you.

Dear Heavenly Father, thank you for repairing this broken vessel. Help us to see others with your eyes of love and grace. In Christ’s name. Amen.

Leave a Reply

