The bright clear skies and comfortable autumn temperature over the weekend lured my husband and I to take an impromptu road trip to check out the 34th Annual Barbecue Festival in Lexington, N.C.

The streets were filled with folks enjoying the autumn day at Lexington's 34th Annual BBQ Festival.
The streets were filled with folks enjoying the autumn day at Lexington’s 34th Annual BBQ Festival.

The downtown streets there were filled with folks enjoying free exhibits of local crafts, music, and of course samples of barbecue.

As I think about this weekend’s freebies, the beautiful weather, and the special time with my husband, I was reminded of a scripture verse about giving freely, Matthew 10:8.

Jesus is about to send His disciples out into the world for the first time on their own.  He has spent time with them and He has trained them, and now He is sending them to reach others.  He tells them to go to the “lost sheep of Israel” and preach the message that the Kingdom of Heaven is near.  He gives them the power to heal the sick, raise the dead, and drive out demons.  Just before they leave, Jesus tells them,

 “Freely you have received; freely give.” Matt 10:8 (NIV)

A first reaction to this verse is that Jesus is speaking about generous giving. The very least I can do is share out of the abundance God has blessed me with. I can freely give of my time, money, and possessions to help others…and even more…

Consider these “freebies”:

  • His grace and mercy, freely offered to all.
  • His forgiveness of sins, freely offered to all.
  • His encouragement, freely offered to all.
  • His wisdom, freely offered to all.
  • His love, freely offered to all.
  • Eternal salvation through faith in Jesus Christ, offered to all.

Today, I encourage you to list the things you have freely received from God. I hope you too, can list these “freebies” among your blessings.

I just love getting freebies. Don’t you?

Dear Heavenly Father, thank you for the blessings you so freely give us. Above all, thank you for eternal life made possible by the gift of your Son, Jesus Christ. In His name I pray. Amen

Leave a Reply

