“May he give you the desire of your heart and make all your plans succeed.”  Psalm 20:4 (NIV)

 

I’d like to think that I could make a New Year’s resolution that would actually be accomplished. However, I know I’m more of a realist than I want to admit to. The resolution would only be wishful thinking.

Oh, the times that I resolved to lose the extra weight. I’m not a heavy eater. But when I do indulge in a full meal…well, let’s just say I love good ol’ Southern comfort foods. And we all know where those calories go! I’m beginning to look like my grandmother. Grandma used to describe herself as being “big at the little and bottom at the top.” It’s hard to fight those genetics. Or is that wishful thinking?

Everyone said, “Join a gym. It will help you lose weight.” So, I joined a gym. Didn’t lose any weight. My son jokingly said, “Ma, just joining won’t help. You actually have to go there!” Ha! Smart aleck. I did go pretty regularly for a while, until life stresses jumped in front and took up the time. I still have the membership. Perhaps I will resolve to going back during my lunch breaks again. Or is that just wishful thinking?

I got a new Suzuki VL800 Boulevard motorcycle for Christmas.

Bouly-Boy
My Bouly-Boy

Well, new to me anyway. (Yes, you two wheeler diehards, it has been triked out. Don’t turn up your nose and be so judgmental just yet.) Let’s face it, I’m no longer a spring chicken and since my accident a couple of years ago, I lost my courage to get back on a two wheeler. Riding on the back of my husband’s bike has been okay. But, I’ve started to get the urge to ride solo again, and God answered the prayer I had on the last trip home on the back of hubby’s bike, on yet another dark night. I prayed, “God, if you want me in the CMA (Christian Motorcyclist Association) ministry, then you are going to have to provide the right tool for me.” Lo and behold, hubby saw the bike on Craig’s list that very same night. Two days later we brought it home. We figured the three wheeler would help get me back in the saddle again. I could resolve to take at least one road trip a month in 2016. Or is that wishful thinking?

We all make resolutions in one way or another. Be it to better our health, work harder, work less, be kinder, mend relationships, or strengthen our faith, we will all go into 2016 with goals.

I’ll resolve to continue listening for God’s whisperings of grace in my life. And no, that’s not wishful thinking.

Here’s wishing you a Happy New Year!

12 I have not yet reached my goal, and I am not perfect. But Christ has taken hold of me. So I keep on running and struggling to take hold of the prize. 13 My friends, I don’t feel that I have already arrived. But I forget what is behind, and I struggle for what is ahead. 14 I run toward the goal, so that I can win the prize of being called to heaven. This is the prize that God offers because of what Christ Jesus has done.15 All of us who are mature should think in this same way. And if any of you think differently, God will make it clear to you. Philippians 3:12-15 (CEV)

Prayer: Heavenly Father, help us to strive to attain the goals that You have set before us. Help us to let go of the past and look to the future, knowing that all things are possible with you, for You work all things together for the good of those who love you, who have been called according to your purpose. In Christ name. Amen.

Resolved

Leave a Reply

