Dear friend, I pray that you may enjoy good health and that all may go well with you, even as your soul is getting along well. 3 John 1:2 (NIV)

The “waiting” room. The medical field’s public holding tank for patients  and/or their friends, relatives, spouses or significant others, who endure the limbo time before being called to a surgical room.

The hushed tones of speech, a television playing on low volume, and background medical noises are like a lullaby to those who slept very little the previous night. Eyelids droop as they struggle to stay alert. Listening for the name in their waiting party to be called becomes a struggle with each passing minute. Then finally the patient’s name is called and their companion for the day is summoned a few minutes later.

But wait, there’s more. There’s another waiting room! Ohhh…but this time…this time IVs are administered and sleep is encouraged. The patient is carted off to surgery and the companion is asked to return to the holding tank…

Yep. That’s where I was this morning. My other half was the patient. Seems colonoscopies will become more frequent on our calendars after today. Early detection of those nasty little polyps are a must to keep cancer at bay.

I sat listening to nearby conversations in the holding tank and the pre-op room.   I was not eaves dropping on purpose. (Well, perhaps just a little.) There really is no private conversation with just a curtain separating the holding cells in pre-op.

Everyone was there for the same purpose. Yet, listening to their preparation leading up to the morning was a little entertaining.(Just being honest. I can only imagine the stories medical staff hear all day.) I overheard an elderly gentleman confessing to using recreational drugs regularly. I was able to glean quite a bit of information about another gents health habits from the list of supplements he reported to his nurse.

As I sat there I wondered what my conversations would convey to an eavesdropper if my spiritual health was being examined.  Are my words pleasing? Could someone tell what my faith habits are? Would my spiritual health reflect Christ or would it reflect cancerous habits trying to creep in?

Hmmmm…I’d better keep spiritual health on my calendar. Wouldn’t want any of those nasty little polyps to creep in.

How about you? How’s your health, physical or spiritual?

PRAYER: Let the words of my mouth and the meditation of my heart be acceptable in your sight, O Lord, my rock and my redeemer. PSALM 19:14

Leave a comment