Sometimes we get so bogged down in the rituals of our daily lives that we forget to give thanks for what we think is just another day. We worry about completing tasks. We grumble or complain when interruptions get in the way of our plans. For instance, . . .

I hear water running in the shower. Slowly, I force my eyes open. The clock reads 5:30 a.m. “Ugh,” I groan inwardly, “not already.” I lay in bed a little longer while waiting for my husband to finish dressing and start the coffee. This is our ritual most mornings. Just another day starting out the same old way.

I finally crawl out of bed and shuffle into the kitchen for my first cup of coffee. Still trying to get my eyes to focus, I overflow the cup. I chuckle at myself as it reminds me of a commercial I’ve seen with a lady doing the same thing. She wipes the coffee from the counter into her cup. I try to remember the product, but it escapes me. “Humph,” I think, “This is going to be just another day like the others.”

Hubby kisses me goodbye as he leaves for work at 6:30 a.m. That’s my que to go dress for work. As I shower, my mind flits from one subject to another, thoughts of what needs to be done when I get to the office; prayers for people who are on my heart; grocery lists; lines from a song; it’s been a while since I did any writing. I need to get on the blog tonight…Yep today is going to be just another day.

I make it to work at 8:00 a.m. As I walk to the building, my cell phone buzzes. It is a text from a friend sharing news that her daughter was just accepted by one of the major colleges. I smile to myself. She had been in my prayers. I shoot back a quick congratulatory text. I unlock the office door, turn on the lights, boot up my computer and go make a cup of coffee. Just another day.

Other folks begin arriving and the campus becomes alive. Just as I begin to start on my morning tasks, a teacher stops by my office with a question about her financial statement. I stop what I’m doing to look at her statement and listen to her concerns. I answer her question and advise her on what to do in the future. She thanks me and hurries down the hallway to her classroom. I turn back to my task at hand and mumble under my breath, “just another day.

Shortly after the teacher leaves, an elderly church member stops by with a question about her financial statement. I stop what I’m working on to answer her question. Then the conversation turns to the recent snow storm. I asked if she had any troubles during it and learned she was without power for several days. Warmed only by the fireplace, she and her husband sat huddled together, reminiscing about their childhood in Scotland and how it reminded them of the fireplace “back home.” I smiled at her and commented, “I bet they were some good memories.” She paused for a moment with a faraway look in her eyes and with a smile quietly answered, “Why yes. Yes, they were. Thanks for asking.” As she leaves, I turn back to my task at hand, preparing for just another day in the office.

At 9:00 a.m. the phone rings. I recognize the gentleman’s voice on the other end. He had two college basketball tickets he was giving away and wanted the phone number of someone he had in mind for them. I gave him the information and then asked how he and his family was doing. I learned their well went dry recently, and they finally have water again. His wife was extremely happy about it. He chuckled and said that was why he was giving the tickets away and that he “best keep” his wife happy for right now. I wished him well and turned back to my work again, preparing for just another day in the office.

For the next two hours I worked with very few interruptions, except email. Between answering emails and completing some database updates I nearly finished a project. Just another day in the office.

Finally, lunch time rolled around. I had been looking forward to today’s lunch for several weeks. I had a lunch date with a young married couple. It had been quite some time since we had had a lengthy conversation. We ate delicious barbecue sandwiches in my office while we discussed matters on their hearts. I always enjoy time with them. It’s a blessing to me see how they are growing in their faith.

Lunch finished, they returned to their day, and I turned back to my other tasks at hand. I glanced at the clock and thought, “Good. I have 30 minutes before my 2:00 appointment arrives.”  In 15 minutes the front door buzzer rang. Since the front desk person had left for the day, I looked at the door video to see who was there. (I should have known better than to get 30 minutes more on the task.) The person always arrives early for our appointments. Why should today be any different. So, I put away the papers I was working on and invited the person into my office. We talked for the next 90 minutes. I gave the person an assignment to write down one positive thing that happens each day for the next seven days.

Now…back to the task I had planned for the day. I finally completed the project. Or so I thought. Another email pinged in. Another question about the project. I would have to research it and get back to the person. Perhaps I will have time over the weekend to help them with their part of the task. Perhaps not.

Finally, it’s 5:00pm, time to go home. I get home and hubby is wanting to go out to dinner. We enjoy a dinner of seafood and talk about our day. Just another day.

As I sat here tonight reflecting on this day, seeing the undertones of complaint, seeing the interruptions, Grace gently led me to this verse . . .

Isaiah 41:10  ‘Do not fear, for I am with you; Do not anxiously look about you, for I am your God I will strengthen you, surely I will help you, Surely I will uphold you with My righteous right hand.’

So, I took the assignment I gave to my 2:00 appointment and applied it to my day. I took my anxieties out. And you know what? Today wasn’t just another day. It was a blessed day.

I am blessed to have a home and warm bed. I am blessed to have employment. I am blessed to have friends who want to share the big and small things in their lives with me. I am blessed to witness the love and share in the memories of an elderly couple. I am blessed to share in laughter when someone shares a chuckle about their home life. I am blessed to be a sounding board for someone seeking an unbiased listening ear. I am blessed to have a husband who makes me coffee each morning and wants to take me out to dinner. I am blessed when writing this blog.

For these things I am thankful for just another day.

How about you? I bet if you look hard enough, you can find a blessing in your day too, even though it may have been just another day.

Prayer: Heavenly Father, thank you for strengthening us when we don’t realize you are there. Often we miss the blessings because we don’t look for them. Thank you for helping us see an ordinary day through your eyes, and realize each day is extraordinary when we allow you in it. It’s not Just Another Day.  In Christ name – Amen.

2 thoughts on “Just Another Day

  1. Yes, lately I have been feeling appreciable about the little things in life. I have posted about very simple things in life that make a difference. It is in the very little things that can make us satisfied and happy. You sure whisper words of grace. Glad to have connect.

    Like

Leave a Reply

