It is said that when God’s word goes out it does not return void. I have found that to be true. Each time I begin a study, the Scriptures supported in some area of my day or week. It’s as if Grace is saying, “See? My Word is true.”

I was blessed when two friends knelt at the altar with me in prayer today. Each had shared a trial or crisis that had recently occurred in their lives. I had no words of wisdom for them, at least none of my own. However, Grace spoke… not through my words, but actions. Well what did I do, you may ask. I simply offered a listening ear and offer to pray with them. I think that alone gave each of them the comfort to share and receive counsel from each other in a way that I knew I would not be able to do. We sat on the steps of the altar for nearly two hours. Them talking and encouraging each other while I merely listened with an occasional nod of my head or a quiet affirmation of their statements.

Grace reminded me later of these words I had read in the first chapter of James during my early morning study and mediation:

My dear brothers, take note of this: Everyone should be quick to listen, slow to speak and slow to become angry, for man’s anger does not bring about the righteous life that God desires. Therefore, get rid of all moral filth and the evil that is so prevalent and humbly accept the word planted in you, which can save you.
Do not merely listen to the word, and so deceive yourselves. Do what it says. Anyone who listens to the word but does not do what it says is like a man who looks at his face in a mirror and, after looking at himself, goes away and immediately forgets what he looks like. But the man who looks intently into the perfect law that gives freedom, and continues to do this, not forgetting what he has heard, but doing it – he will be blessed in what he does. (James 1:19-25)

I love these two friends dearly and my heart broke for each of them. I knew that they could glean something from each other’s story and I had to be “quick to listen and slow to speak” this time.

Sometimes, oft times, what our friends need most from us, when they are experiencing troubles, is a listening ear and a compassionate heart.

PRAYER: Heavenly Father, thank you for bringing your word to mind when we need it. Thank you for our friends who willing to be quick to listen and slow to speak when we need to talk. Above all, thank you for always listening to us. In Christ, amen.

Leave a Reply

