I sat on the back porch enjoying the warmth of the spring sunshine. Finally, I could don a pair of shorts and soak in some vitamin-D. Finally, I had some time where I had no place to be and no one to be accountable to other than myself.

Equipped with pen, pad and a copy of Max Lucado’s book “Grace for the Moment” I was ready for some “me” time. I read through the preface and thumbed through a couple of pages through out the book. None of his words seemed to connect with me.

I prayed inwardly, “Lord, speak to me. What would you have me learn.” Just as I finished my short little prayer, my beagle, Corporal, began to bark. I looked up to see what had gotten his attention. I saw a lone bicyclist pedaling down the road past my house. Head down, eyes focused straight ahead, he never even acknowledged the dog nor me. As I watched him speed on by, another lone rider approached.  Someone on horseback. He was riding at a leisurely gait, seemingly to be taking in the sights, sounds and smells of his surroundings. We made eye contact, smiled and called hello to each other. He was riding with soft music playing. I could barely hear it. But, I recognized the lyrics that were playing as he passed. They were the chorus from “Glorious Day,” a song by one of my favorite contemporary gospel groups, Casting Crowns.

The lone riders passed on by leaving me with my thoughts. I wondered which rider others sometime see in me. Am I more like the bicyclist speeding by, not acknowledging others around me; or the horseman admiring God’s beauty and creation, caring enough to smile and say hello to a stranger?

The little book “Grace for the Moment” now unopened on my lap, didn’t speak to me. But God spoke volumes through a lone rider’s smile, hello and soft music.

Grace whispered a reminder…

Living, He loved me
Dying, He saved me
Buried, He carried my sins far away
Rising, He justified freely forever
One day He’s coming
Oh glorious day, oh glorious day

An elderly gentleman friend of the family, who once was a school principal, used to say he would tell his students who were misbehaving, “I can’t hear you. Your actions are speaking louder than you.”

Which type of rider were you today? What are your actions saying.

Prayer: Heavenly Father, your Grace speaks  through even the smallest actions of others and ourselves. To some the lone rider has no meaning. To others his action magnifies you and brings a peace.  Thank you for the lone rider today. He reminded me that we are never alone when we allow you into our lives. Help me to be an encouragement to others, even if it’s just through a smile and a hello. In Christ – Amen

2 thoughts on “The Lone Rider

Leave a Reply

