Give to everyone what you owe them: If you owe taxes, pay taxes; if revenue, then revenue; if respect, then respect; if honor, then honor. Romans 13:7 NIV

It is said there is nothing sure in life except death and taxes. Taxes. Ugh! I’ve always complained and fretted over preparing my own tax returns. I did hire H&R Block once. All they did was fill in the blanks. I had to do all the calculations and present the sums to them. I thought they were suppose to do all that stuff.  And still they prepared them incorrectly.  After receiving an notice from the IRS that year that a correction was needed,  I decided, “No thank you. If I’m going to do the work for you, then I’ll just keep the fees and go back to preparing them myself.”  Haven’t had any problems since then, except, it seems no matter how many deduction, expenses, and allowances I hunt for, I always end up owing more taxes on top of the extra withholdings. Can’t take what’s not there. Oh, well, it is, what it is.

I’ve been on both sides of the tax payer coin this month. My new job landed me in the world of tax preparation. Sounds like fun, huh? Not!! Talk about stress… I’ve developed a new respect for  CPAs  and tax analysts this past week. The CPA and analysts in my office prepared close to 800 returns or more. A 40hr work week became  64 for me and 72 or more hours for some analysts. Whew! Now the fun of filing extensions begins for those who couldn’t meet the deadline.

I’ll not complain though. God has blessed me with employment. I have a house that keeps  me warm in the winter and cool in the summer. I can take hot showers. I have modern appliances. My vehicles are dependable. I have food when I’m hungry. I have clothing to spare.

I can remember less fortunate times when my family lived in a house with only a single cold water faucet in the whole house. We had running water and a path. There was no inside bathroom, only an outside toilet. Baths were taken in a washtub. I was provided one pair of shoes, one coat, and one school dress each year. If I out grew them before the end of the year, well, too bad. They had to be worn anyway.

No, I’ll not complain. There are many in every country who still live in those conditions, or worse. I’m thankful God has provided me with the means to share His love in helping others, and His grace to do so.

I hope if you have been blessed, that you will also consider sharing with others who are less fortunate.

Prayer: Heavenly Father, you have blessed me and others beyond measure. Your mercy and grace is boundless. Help us to have your eyes to see, your hands to serve and your heart to love. In Christ name – amen.

 

 

Leave a Reply

